Skip to Main Content





The Political Science faculty is committed to both research and teaching. In terms of research, faculty members give papers at scholarly conferences all over the world and write books and publish articles in the best journals in the profession. At the same time, faculty members are dedicated teachers. Along with carefully selected adjunct professors, the full time faculty teach all the courses offered in the department.



Carolyn Forestiere, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor and Chair                      
Office: PUP 311     Phone: 410-455-8160     Email:





Ian Anson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office:PUP 305     Phone: 410-455-2142     Email:
Personal website: Ian Anson










William Blake, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: PUP 312     Phone: 410-455-8132     Email:
Personal website: William Blake

Blake.William2015 4








Sunil Dasgupta, Ph.D.
Program Director at Shady Grove 










Jeffrey Davis, J.D., Ph.D.f_davis
Office: PUP 316     Phone: 410-455-2181     Email:
Personal website: Jeffrey Davis






Felipe Filomeno, Ph.D.filomeno
Associate Professor    
Office: PUP 320     Phone: 410-455-8475     Email:






Brian Grodsky, Ph.D.f_grodsky
Professor and Associate Chair
Office: PUP 308     Phone: 410-455-8047     Email:
Personal website: Brian Grodsky







Devin T. Hagerty, Ph.D. f_hagerty
Office: PUP 317     Phone: 410-455-2185     Email:





Cynthia Hody, Ph.D
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Director
f_hodyOffice: PUP 313     Phone:  410-455-2193     Email:







Laura Hussey, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Director of Sondheim Public Affairs, Scholars Program 
Office: PUP 319Phone: 410-455-6560     Email:








Tyson King-Meadows, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: Fine Arts 442    Phone: 410-455-2194    Email:






Roy Meyers, Ph.D. f_meyers
Office: PUP 318     Phone: 410-455-2196     Email:
Personal website: Roy Meyers






Thomas F. Schaller, Ph.D.
Office: PUP 314     Phone: 410-455-2845     Email:






Brigid Starkey, Ph.D.f_starkey
Senior Lecturer and Director, Global Studies
Office: Fine Arts Rm. 551     Phone: 410-455-2182     Email:







Eric Stokan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
Office: PUP 309   Phone: 410-455-1595    Email:
Additional website: Eric Stokan










.Lisa Vetter, Ph.Df_vetter
Associate Professor
Office: PUP 307     Phone: 410-455-8477     Email:








Adjunct Faculty, Fall 2019

Ben Garmoe (also Head Coach, Mock Trial)    Office: PUP 358    Email:
Martin Kobren    Office: PUP 358    Email:
Laszlo Korossy   Office: PUP 358   Email:
Elli Lierberman  Office: PUP 358   Email:
Kerwin Miller    Office: PUP 358    Email:







Emeritus Faculty
George R. LaNoue, Ph.D.f_lanoue
Professor Emeritus  
Office: PUP 413     Phone: 410-455-2180     Email:





Cheryl M. Miller, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Emeritus










Nicholas R. Miller, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Office: PUP 321     Phone: 410-455-2187    Email:


 Additional website: Nicholas R. Miller






Arthur T. Johnson, Ph.D.
Professor and UMBC Provost Emeritus
Office: PUP 311     Phone: 410-455-2195     Email:








Harold Levy, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Office: PUP 359     Phone: 410-455-2191     Email: