COVID-19 (Coronavirus)
UMBC campuses are closed, but courses are now online and employees are working remotely.
Skip to Main Content

List of subfields covered by Political Science Faculty at UMBC

Main subfields in Political Science covered by full time tenured and tenure track faculty

American Politics: Ian Anson, Tyson-King Meadows (away for the year), Thomas Schaller

Law and Politics: William Blake, Jeffrey Davis

Public Policy/Administration: Laura Hussey, Roy Meyers, Eric Stokan (away for the year)

Theory/Political Philosophy: Lisa Vetter

Comparative Politics: Felipe Filomeno, Carolyn Forestiere, Brian Grodsky

International Relations: Sunil Dasgupta (Shady Grove Campus), Devin Hagerty, Cindy Hody, Brigid Starkey



Also, please note that our course selections usually follow a pattern.

Lower level courses begin with a 1 or 2

Upper level courses begin with a 3 or 4

IMPORTANT: the middle number of the course gives you an idea of what subfield the course is in.

0 – Mixed

1 – Theory/Political Philosophy

2 – American Politics

3 – Legal/Law and Politics

4 – American Politics

5 – Public Policy/Administration

6 – Comparative Politics

7 – Area Studies

8 – International Relations

9 – Foreign Policy